top of page

A Time of Courage by John Gwynne

If you have been reading this know that this stunning finale is absolutely fucking awesome and everything you want and need. It’s a goddamn masterpiece. It’s is easily one of the most exhausting books I’ve ever read in terms of the larger than life scale and length of the battle sequences.

This is definitely one of my favourite stories of all time. The first four books were amazing and thrilling; classic epic fantasy as good went up against bad in one of the most bloodthirsty showdowns I’ve ever felt a part of. I loved that John choose to ‘continue’ his series by starting fresh 200 years or so later. All the history and lore was still relevant but the reader got a whole new story with brand new characters and none of the emotional hangover. The sense of nostalgia is there but in a really good way whereby the actions of the current characters cannot help but provoke fond memories of the previous ones.

Anyway we are at book seven. You’re either enjoying the books enough to see finale through regardless of my thoughts or you’re a sadist who is punishing themselves by continuing with a series they don’t enjoy. Personally this is one of my favourite series of all time. I cant wait to see what John comes up to next but if he never wrote another thing I’d still be very grateful for this amazing reading experience.

10/10

Thanks to the wonderful people at Orbit for sending me an ARC to review.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page