top of page

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson


I grabbed this hoping it would be good fun, light entertainment, have some great action sequences and show me something fresh to keep me going. I had a 15 hour plane ride ahead of me. Sure I had my go to books in my carry on but who can resist an airport buy? Not me that's for sure.

Skyward was average at best and not one I'd really recommend. It's feels very by the numbers and satisfies simple basic tropes. The daughter of a traitor who was definitely not a traitor, who possesses a mythical gift that makes her an outcast, accompanied by a friend who is a genius mechanic they find a spaceship from another time that TALKS!. It was Top Gun meets Nightrider meets Armada where the most interesting character is kept in a cave for 95% of the book. Maybe I'm just getting old but there didn't seem to be anything new here at all for me to grab onto except for the odd moment of Michael Bay esc madness that I could actually visualise.

Go watch The Last Starfighter instead.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page