top of page

Where Gods Fear To Go by Angus Watson

When I picked up this series a few years ago I was not expecting a huge amount, I'd heard of Angus Watson but not yet read any of his books. It was therefore a beautiful surprise to find so much enjoyment in the first book, characters that I believed were real and could get behind, a story that raised my heart rate and a sense of humour in the writing that had me laughing out loud. The second book scared the shit out of me. Characters that I loved were placed in some of the most horrifying and loathsome conditions imaginable. I couldn't figure out how they would even get out of the situation they were in let alone achieve their ultimate objective. This brings us to the grand finale.

Where Gods Fear to Go is a fantastic end to an exciting and entertaining series. It continues the quest of the Wootah to get Ottar the Moaner to the Meadows where, apparently, he will stop the growing apocalypse and bring peace to the land.

Accompanied by the remains of the deadly Calnians they face beastly monstrosities who are all trying trying to kill them, wonders of nature that are all trying to kill them and finally they are under threat their own humanity and insecurities, as they are all not sure whether to kill each other! It's bloody epic and epically bloody. I cant imagine it's easy to wrap everything after three books but Watson pulls it off.

If you've not heard of this series I cannot recommend it enough. If you've had your fill of 800 page epics with Gary Stu's defying thousands of deities and a dozen time jumps give this one a try. If you'd like to read about one of THE baddest group of warriors ever to grace the pages of fantasy and wont get all butt hurt that they are women pick it up. If you do get butt hurt get your shit together.

This is a series I will reread and recommend for years to come.

10/10

Keef the Beserker. Forever.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page