top of page

A Big Ship at the End of the Universe by Alex White


One of the best sci fi space junkie books I’ve read in ages. It’s got some wonderful characters that end up feeling like family, breath taking action sequences, massive galaxy encompassing stakes and also captures the spirit of some of my other favourite books and movies. The plot unfolds at a frenetic pace and gives the reader no time at all before they and the characters are thrown in the deep end. The writing is never slow or bogged down with too much information, the magic system is undefined but gloriously accessible and the fight scenes are really, really, ridiculously well done.

I am so glad I picked up this book and I’m going to jump straight into the brilliantly titled “A Bad Deal for the Whole Universe”. Everything I enjoy about Becky Chambers books, everything that reminds me of why I love Firefly, everything I wish the movie Solo could have been; this book has it all and more.

If you are looking for great fun, awesome action and characters you'll care about look no further. 10/10

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page