top of page

Favourites of 2016

I did not meet my reading goal this year but did tick off ‘become a dad’ so you win some you lose some right? If you’re looking for some good reads I hope this might provide you with some options

Saint’s Blood by Sebastian de Castell – Sebastian’s third book in ‘The Greatcoats” is just brilliant and despite serious contenders it flew straight to the top of my favourites list. This series continue to draw me into the lives, loves, hopes and dreams of all its characters on a level that is above almost everyone else. It’s a favourite to reread, the sword fighting is magnificent with the often underused duelling format given a marvellous run out and it is quite simply fantastic.

Morning Star by Pierce Brown – A beautiful ending to one of the most fulfilling Science Fiction series, although not quite the end. I had such ridiculously high hopes for this finale and the fact that they were not only met but surpassed broke me heart in the most spectacular way. Thank God for Iron Gold coming in 2017

The Last Mortal Bond by Brian Staveley – Another perfect finale but the one that sated my darker desires. Hope, success and joy came only in moments in this one and I loved every step of this sometimes torturous but always thrilling series.

Wolf Road by Beth Lewis – A taught thriller with an interesting and original protagonist and a villain that may well live on in your nightmares.

Invisible Planets edited by Ken Liu - Oh this was soooo good. Science Fiction is supposed to transport you to another place and this certainly does. An absolute must read.

The books I read this year

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page