top of page

Before They Are Hanged by Joe Abercrombie

I’ve been Abercrombied and I have grim all over me.

Damn that was an impressive book. After finishing the A Blade Itself in a week, this one took me about three days for two reasons. Firstly it felt a bit like like they were one book split in half, due to the lack of any real wrapping up at the end of book 1, so I had to get some conclusion and secondly I was completely invested in the challenges facing our main characters and watching them grow and interact with one another.

We continue the journey of Logan Ninefingers, Bayaz, Ferro, Jezal, Longfoot and Quai in their quest to recover the Seed, the source of the Makers magic, and the key to defeating Kanedias. Logan and Ferro’s bond grows slowly but surely as she comes to realise he is man who can be depended on in all circumstances. Jezal gets in his first real fight, kicks some ass and then gets his head caved in resulting in a pleasant attitude adjustment. Quai is coming more into his own but remains a mystery, Longfoot is a tad annoying and Bayaz seems to be weakening every day though no one knows why.

West is off commanding armies and is put in charge of defending the South side with Prince Ladisla, in what is technically the safer spot, but cunning old Bethod sends his best down there for a little action. Joining him are the Named Men and some of my absolute favourite nefarious lads. Threetrees is in charge and still the man to follow and totally reminds me of Druss the Legend. Black Dow, Dogman, Grim and Tul are the toughest, meanest most loveable band of brothers I think I’ve ever read about. The dialogue between them makes it clear Joe has had them in his head for many years and the wonderful sense of familiarity in each of their distinct voices is a real pleasure. My favourite moment of the book took place between West and Dow after West did something one might say is uncharacteristic. It had me jumping out of my seat yelling

Glotka is fascinating and just a fountain of memorable moments and surprising turns. His strengths are many and there is nothing in him half done except his crippled leg and the very occasional shred of mercy that he bestows only woman who, only Glotka knows why, earn his sympathy. His mission is to defend Dagoska, which is about to overrun by the Gurkish, and discover the whereabouts of the previous Superior, who simply disappeared from his room one night without a trace. With the help of his trust Practicals he is forced to improvise at every turn, only finding some relief when he is offered help from the mysterious Valint and Balk bankers.

One of the things I loved, and part of the reason I think Joe does Grimdark so well, is that there is a sense of sacrifice in both the content and the make up of the writing. Some scenes fell cut short and it makes them all the more sorrowful. As a reader we expect things to be explored but sometimes the saddest, and also most interesting, choice is to see two characters not get that chance to resolve things properly and how it affects them. Two of my favourite characters part ways and when you might be expecting them to talk things out or discuss their relationship, all we get is a misinterpreted glance, an awkward silence and….nothing….it’s over. The ending was heartbreaking and I am going straight into Book 3. The wife is having a terrific ladies weekend so I will be trying to get through it in a couple of sittings as despite reading well over 1000 pages about these people in a week and a half, I’ve just not had enough.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page