top of page

Orc Warfare by Chris Pramas


This is a nice quick one that reads more like a character breakdown for an entire race than a book with a plot and structure but I must say for the very first time I am tempted to be an orc next time I pick up Skyrim or a game where it gives me that opportunity. It has elements of the Art of War in terms of tactics, troop deployment and weaponary and I picked it up because it sort of reminded me of the game Dynasty Warriors. I was interested to see how an entire battle of Orcs may work especially as wet to view it from a neutral point of view. There are no heroes or villains in this one just Orcs, Yetis, Trolls, Goblins and more.

It’s a great summary of the make up of the Orc race explaining the different factions and tribes that exist based on the terrain they live in and how they have evolved individual tactics to help their way of life continue. We get an insight into some of their ghastly but creative weapon choices as well as their day to day habits.

It is only 64 pages and some of that is taken up with some absolutely beautiful artwork. Yes Orcs can be beautiful. I would not have thought it myself but one flick through the pages and your imagination and sense of what they look like, how they move, even how they sound; comes alive

I think any gamer would enjoy this and anyone who has read books where Orcs constantly appear but are rarely given their due respect in terms of backstory.

It ended a little abruptly and may have benefited from a final chapter or summary but overall it was a very enjoyable half an hour of reading.

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for a review

Published by Osprey Publishing and available June 23rd

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page