top of page

Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis


I know I normally review fantasy and sci fi but this definitely falls into my "occasionally something else' pile. I was recommended this by my older brother at the end of 2019 so wanted to give it a go.

I was a teenager when Blood Sugar Sex Magik came out and the Chilli Peppers always seemed to me to be a constant in those years along with Pearl Jam and, to some extent Smashing Pumpkins. I had no idea how many ups and downs they had over the years, how many various incarnations there were with different members coming, going, coming back and sometimes dieing. Like who would have thought they would be looking for a manager just before releasing Californication. That's something unsuccessful bands do...and it turns out bands where every single member has a heroin or a coke problem. For me there was way too much drug use in this book. It is literally every page and whilst it is an interesting journey to follow for someone who has only really smoked weed it is soul destroying to see Anthony go so down far the rabbit hole and drag himself out, only to fall back again and again and again and again and again. By the time I'd finished I felt like I had been on a bender myself so if you do want to read this one maybe considering stretching out a bit so that the novelty of him getting high doesn't completely wear off.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page