top of page

Crownbreaker by Sebastien de Castell

I had a love hate relationship with this series so lets get that out of the way first.

The Spellslinger books are definitely YA and aimed at teenagers coming into their own. I read them because I adored The Greatcoats, I love the way Castell's characters can tear my heart out but always put it back in and, let's face it the covers are irresistible especially the UK one. Over the course of six books, I grew impatient for more development in terms of the overall story when I should have approached it as a recurring serial. It spends quite a bit of time feeling more like an extensive comic book with a new round of familiar adventures always on the horizon than 6 books, if you know what I mean.

Anyway, along with Spellslinger, Crownbreaker was probably my favourite book of the series . It's been quite a build up and a long journey for Kellen but it was great to see everything come together and all the many characters get their arcs and lives wrapped up. Highly recommend this series to younger readers around the teenage age group who are looking for a series that is fun, cheeky and sometimes heart breaking.

Cownbreaker - 9/10

Series 7/10

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
http://charliehopkins.wix.com/areadingmachine/feed.xml
bottom of page